In Which I Introduce Myself

So…funny thing; I’m not actually employed at the moment.  Yeah, I know, it’s ironic for me to be telling my audience that I’m not currently a nanny in the very first post of my “Writing NANNY” blog, but that’s kind of life tends to go.  I’ve recently moved from the Bay Area, California back to the small-town Cali mountains I grew up in, and finding work has been much more difficult than I anticipated.  But that’s only part of the equation! let me properly introduce myself here:

My name is Sierra.  I am in my early twenties and I love books, wine, vampires, animals and geekdom.  Yeah, at the end of the day, most of the content of this blog is going to be geek related.  I’ll also be talking a bit about working with kids (you know…whenever that actually starts happening again…), living in a small town and, probably, my dog.  Her name’s Daisy and she’s currently whining at me to get off the computer and pay attention to her (that’s her favorite pastime).  As you may have guessed already, I am also a writer.  I write mostly fantasy but have also branched out into historical fiction and am preparing for my very first foray into the horror genre.  I’ve not been published, or even really tried yet, but the time will come, someday.  Until then, I co-write this pretty legit vampire comedy online serial with my buddy Christine.  You should go check that out, by the way: http://www.revampmanor.wordpress.com

So my main fandoms are: The Lord of the Rings (hardcore purist, btw), The Vampire Diaries/The Originals (show; I found the books underwhelming), Supernatural, and BBC Sherlock.  I’m also a huge fan of Scott Lynch’s Gentlemen Bastards and am an embarking fan of Harry Potter (Sssh! I’m only on book three!).  I’ll be talking a lot about these things…in fact, I’ll probably post a quick rundown of Christine’s and my thoughts on TVD, Originals and Supernatural every week the day after the episode airs, because hey, I’m unemployed and really damn bored and I have lots of Thoughts and Feelings about my shows.  And yeah, you’ll probably hear a lot about Christine…like I said, she’s my co-writer and we’re fans of the same shows and one of my coolest friends.  Raven’s my other coolest friend–you’ll hear about her when I rant about how awful Twilight (I know, I know, how passe) and Fifty Shades of Grey are.  Raven’s a writer too!  Yeah, we all meet up and write and talk about nerdy stuff quite a lot.  Yeah, it’s awesome.

So, yeah…that’s me.  I’m sure there’ll be more than one book review and movie review on here as I feel like reviewing something.  I hope a few people will have some fun/feel justified in their pain (this is partly a fandom blog, after all) here and I look forward to posting soon! Peace out, and stay tuned for my first Originals related post tomorrow!

Leave a comment